For those of you following the blog lately, you’ve seen my fascination with the Ordo Chronos. This obscure (and, seemingly vanished) branch of the Inquisition was formed to prevent and combat time-based anomalies and threats, for example those caused by warp-based travel (because of time dilation related to warp travel, ships can emerge from the warp with years or even decades or centuries having passed in real time while the crew on board only experienced weeks passing; even more unsettling are the accounts of ships emerging before they ever actually jumped into the warp. But I digress).

So I’ve been tinkering with a small Ordo Chronos warband. You can see some of my work in progress and a bit of the fluff I’ve generated for them here and here, as well as a glimpse of one of the mostly-painted figures here.

But here’s the gang in all their painted, based glory.

 

Inquisitor Tomas Arman, “The Chrononaut”:

IMG_4900_zpszuvg1zf4

 

The Mercenary:

IMG_4881_zps8ur54rka

 

The Skitarii:

IMG_4884_zps4hmfbefg

IMG_4885_zps5t3ajxit

 

The Servitor/Warp-Field Generator/Time Travel Device:

IMG_4878_zpssxl1ooq5

(As I Google searched for inspiration for this particular character/scenery piece, I came across these images that gave me inspiration for the sort of broken clockwork piece on the servitor. I’m not 100% satisfied with how my efforts turned out, but hopefully you see what I was going for:)

 

And the whole completed warband:

IMG_4877_zpse7vw7xsf

 

I’ll admit to being pretty proud of myself. This is the first unit I’ve ever finished, from building to painting to basing. I owe it to the online community, the praise and encouragement from fellow hobbyist/bloggers here and on the Ammobunker message board, for giving me the motivation/inspiration to do it. (Special shout-out to imperial rebel ork’s absolutely killer Chrononaut conversion of his own for giving me the push to get my butt in gear with finishing this lot and putting my best work into them).

 

What does the “future” hold for the Ordo Chronos warband (pun totally intended)?

My next big project to complete is Inquisitor Aleph and the Paradox squad (first image here). These guys/this guy will serve as the main antagonists to Inquisitor Arman and the Ordo Chronos warband.

But of course, that means Arman needs reinforcements. I got thinking about what kind of help an Ordo Chronos Inquisitor needs (a Techpriest, various psykers, maybe even an Eldar Farseer), but then inspiration struck:

Who in the galaxy would be motivated to help someone with time travel? Why, a Squat of course! These diminutive offshoots of humanity (“Space Dwarves,” but I don’t think you’re supposed to say that anymore) have been nearly wiped out in the “present day” of the setting by the ravenous predations of the Tyranids, who consumed the Squat’s homeworlds near the galactic core. Of course a Squat could be coerced into helping the Ordo Chronos, given the opportunity to travel back in time to save his people.

Needing parts for a potential Squat, I “had to” pick up this gem of a kit:

IMG_4905_zpsqbzd4mrz

 

Which led to a great chance to convert up a Squat Henchman for Inquisitor Arman:

IMG_4890_zpsty4jbpl4

He’s a fairly straightforward conversion. Standard body from the kit, Chaos Marauder head (with extra green stuff for a bushier beard), and I tried to 40k him up a bit with a powerfist and some grenades.

And one last shot of the group together:

IMG_4894_zpscqystfio

 

Thanks for taking the “time” (sorry, can’t help myself) to look at these guys.

Stay safe as you navigate the seas of the Warp, and report any temporal anomalies to your nearest Ordo Chronos agent.

-Thutmos

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Ordo Chronos (pt. 3)

  1. Hehe thanks for the shout out man, much appreciated. The warband looks cool. I really like the odd legs on the Skitarii. I wouldn’t of thought the combination would have worked but it clearly does. They all look ready to take on anything. Well done. The Squat looks awesome too mate.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my friend! And happy to make the shout out. I knew I was taking a risk with the proportions on the Skitarii – I had an image of a hulking, hobbling but still deadly figure. Glad you liked it!

      And I’m having to actively fight the urge not to just buy a bunch more of those AoS dwarves and build a whole Squat force haha. The hobby butterfly says, “Do it.” My wallet says, “Please don’t!”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

