Excerpt from A Treatise on the Downward Spiral, by Reznor Trente of the Nine Nails, circa M2-M3:

What have I become

My sweetest friend?

Everyone I know

Goes away in the end.

And you could have it all,

My empire of dirt.

I will let you down.

I will make you hurt.

 

Despite the name, the unfortunate fellow below has nothing to do with my Ordo Chronos warband. He is a different breed entirely: a Chrono-gladiator.

It’s just one of the nearly endless little items in the 40K fluff that gives the setting so much texture and depth. Chrono-gladiators are pit-fighters, cyborg slaves that are some kind of cross between wind-up killers and all the character’s in Justin Timberlake’s In Time:
in_time_ver6

 

I promise it really is worth a watch if you haven’t seen it. Anyway, these unfortunate souls have their bodies heavily modified with augmetic weaponry and are given a countdown for how many minutes their lives have left. The only way to extend the timer is to kill opponents in combat.

Pretty grim stuff.

So, of course I had to create one of these for INQ28. He’s been built for a while now, but I finally finished painting him during last night’s hobby marathon. I picture this dour fellow as a veteran gladiator, broken and battered from an extended lifetime of combat. His left arm sports a massive industrial saw as a weapon, while his right arm, well… that weapon was recently ripped from his body, and hastily replaced by a crude blade. Whatever works to kill, to extend that timer.

Anyway, here are some shots of him:

IMG_4928_zpsi0tnnrcgIMG_4929_zpsnnvwyzpaIMG_4930_zpse30cdjbeIMG_4936_zps4gopgzcwIMG_4932_zpsxe9fy1acIMG_4933_zpse6tnphvvIMG_4934_zpshfj0eh3tIMG_4935_zpsvgfvqbc9

Um, ignore my finger in that last pic. Didn’t notice it until this post was pretty much done.

Thanks for taking a look!

Be sure to keep an eye on the clock, citizens.

-Thutmos

4 thoughts on “A few good (hench)men pt. 2: The Reluctant Chrono-Gladiator

  1. Grim fellow for sure. Love the Circ-Saw. I’ve used it for minis too. Looks savage. I love that song. Have you heard Johnny Cashes version? Very cool and equally as dark. My band and I covered it for a few pub gigs a few years back but it was too moody for drunken bogans haha. Great movie as well. Timberlake is a good actor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, man! That saw is one of my favorite bits from GW. I’ve got another one on a mutated Chaos Terminator Lord as a chainfist/powerfist stand-in.

      Love the Cash version of the song too. My wife has heard me ramble (a couple of times) about how that same song can sound/mean something so different (but still be so devastating) in the hands of two different artists. That’s cool about the band but shame on the drunken pub patrons for not appreciating the song haha

      When he first came out with the boy band in the 90s, I would’ve never thought I’d be a man in his mid-30s in 2017 who was a big Timberlake fan. And yet here I am.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

