Much better bloggers than I have written at length about the new edition of Warhammer 40,000 and the bundle of new models and goodies that are available to players. I don’t have much to add for my own take on the new edition, but I’m pretty excited as a Chaos player. Next week I’ll be picking up my new Nurgle models from a friend I’m splitting the new kit with, and it has given me some motivation to get back to work on the various Nurgle-themed units that have languished in half-completed model purgatory.

As I’ve dusted off and begun tinkering with these models, I thought I’d share some with you folks. Tonight’s post:  Zombies!

I currently have three zombie squads in various stages of completion. I like to give each of my armies’ squads a unique theme, and I’ve applied that to my zombies as well. First squad are pretty conventional Warhammer zombies:

IMG_4953_zpsp2i9amdi

 

While second squad (still in its early stages) will be abominations and ghouls (I figure the Pox Walkers will be converted to join this unit):

IMG_4954_zpsj51kw2kq

 

And third squad might be the one I’ve had the most fun with. This is an Imperial Guard unit that has fallen victim to the zombie plague. You’ll note a number of these guys have bandages or obvious wounds:  in my fluff an Imperial Guard base was overrun by zombies. Much of the main force escaped, but was forced to leave behind their soldiers in the infirmary, those guardsmen too sick or wounded to get away. These poor souls then became zombies and now hunt their former comrades.

IMG_4955_zpsizea6rxb

IMG_4956_zpsw2muzvkeIMG_4957_zpsqddnhfaeIMG_4958_zpskhbp3aiqIMG_4959_zpsefyvmqht

 

And a few final shots of the whole zombie horde:

IMG_4961_zps1jkzhcayIMG_4962_zpszsl13y2oIMG_4963_zpsuebfk9nhIMG_4964_zpsrqzmw8mf

 

Keep those wounds clean, citizens, and watch out for infection!

-Thutmos

5 thoughts on “Preparing for Nurgle pt. 1: Zombies!

    1. Thank you! That’s definitely the next step for this bunch. I’m getting more confident in my ability (I won’t say “skill”) as a painter – I spent a long time avoiding painting models for fear of “ruining” them. Now though, I’m pretty excited to get some paint on this ugly horde. Stay tuned for full-color images! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Excellent man. Those zombie guards are particularly impressive. I like the angle of the heads. Nice work. Can’t wait to see them painted up. Not sure if you’ve had a look at my zombie posts? I did the three stages of zombie. It was a fun project. I’m a big fan of Nurgle and I’m already tinkering with the new models for my March of the Flies project.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

